Banana Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

If you haven’t already guessed, baking is my guilty pleasure and I really enjoy getting creative in the kitchen when I’m feeling stressed or need some ‘me’ time to unwind and relax. I have a major sweet tooth so I’m always experimenting with different cookie, brownie and cupcake recipes to keep my sweet tooth at bay!

I am banana obsessed and so when I get the chance I love to get creative using bananas!! I went for these Banana chocolate chip cupcakes and added in some chocolate chips, because what’s better than banana and chocolate in cupcake form? As the banana is a fruit it acts as one of your five a day so it balances the chocolate out = healthy cupcakes, right? ;).

I often get bored when I have a certain piece of food too much, but I can’t get enough of bananas and these cupcakes make eating a piece of fruit so much more indulgent! This is a Mary Berry recipe which I’ve made so many times before (and I plan to make them plenty more too!). They are super fluffy and moist, with the perfect amount of chocolate chips distributed through them to add a hint of chocolatey goodness.

 

img_6710

These cupcakes are the perfect little indulgent treat.

 

Ingredients:

  • 100g softened butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3tbsp milk (if your mixture is a bit thicker)
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 100g chocolate chips

I was feeling extra creative so to see the method on making these cupcakes watch the video linked above. The recipe is super easy to follow making these cupcakes so quick to make. All it takes is a bit of mixing, mashing, folding and dolloping into cupcake cases and you’ll be done before you know it!!

img_6663

They taste especially good when eaten warm as the chocolate chips will still be melted… mmmm.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and video – let me know if you get your bake on and enjoy them!

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

